2 Comments

Chain Story: Barry’s Plan!

Hello folks,

I finally started thinking about starting my taxes but decided to write this chain story intro instead.  I’d really love to know how you think this story is going to turn out!

Barry’s Plan

“Honey, are you sure this is going to work?”

Hope studied her husband Barry as he gazed blissfully out the window of his study at the blue, cloudless sky. She then looked back at the pile of late bill notices, foreclosure warnings, and other dismal financial statements that covered the nearby desk. She sighed loudly.

“Trust me, sweetheart,” Barry responded, blithely. “I know what I’m doing.”

Hope continued staring at her husband, who seemed hypnotized by something outside the window that she could not see. She seriously began to wonder if it might be time to search the phone book for a good psychotherapist. After some time, Barry finally broke his gaze and glanced around the room.

“Where’s our children? I want to call a family meeting and announce my plan for getting us out of this mess.”

“Faith is upstairs watching American Idol episodes that she Tivo-ed,” Hope replied. “I believe Destiny is on her computer, supposedly doing homework but probably tooling around on her Facebook page instead.”

“Let’s call them.”

“But, Honey, I really don’t think–”

“Sweetheart,” Barry smiled confidently at his wife as he gently laid a hand on her shoulder. “Call them.”

Hope sighed again but went off to get the children. In a few moments, she was back, and they were all gathered together in the small study. The two girls, one sixteen and the other ten, looked up at their father expectantly.

“Kids,” Barry began. “As you well know, we’re having a little financial trouble. We’re way behind on several bills, including our house payments. The fact is things just don’t look good right now. But, I have a plan.”

Barry paused for a moment for dramatic effect.

“From this day on,” Barry announced, importantly. “We’re going to spend as much money as we possibly can.

The kids continued listening, becoming more intrigued by the moment. Hope struggled to keep from rolling her eyes.

“Faith, I’m going to see what I can do about getting you your own credit card, one with a $100,000 credit limit, so that you can buy whatever you need. Destiny, as of right now, your allowance will be increased from $10 to $100 per week.”

The girls’ mouths dropped open but then formed into silly grins as they looked at each other. Hope started to say something, but Barry waved her off.

“I haven’t forgotten about you, sweetheart,” Barry said. “I’m going to buy you everything that you ever wanted, everything that you deserve–fur coats, jewelry, expensive perfume—the best money can buy—“

“But—“

“I’ve got it all thought out. I know we already have a second mortgage on the house, but there are plenty of charitable people out there willing to help a family like us. When that dries up, I’m sure Mr. Chang next door will be willing to give us a loan, if we put up our home as collateral.”

“Hmmm,” Hope said, uncertainly.

“Now don’t worry your pretty little head about it anymore, sweetheart. I want you to go out to the stores right now and start picking out new furniture and housewares to replace all this old ratty stuff we have now. Also, you may want to start looking for a new car and a new TV and–“

“Honey,” Hope interrupted. “With all this expensive stuff that we’ll be buying and accumulating, don’t you think we ought to invest in a security system for the house?”

Barry thought for a moment, then turned to his wife with a smile and confident wink.

“Nah,” he said. “I don’t think we need to worry about security. That won’t be a problem. Just trust me.”

2 comments on “Chain Story: Barry’s Plan!

  1. I never like to guess ahead when I’m reading. I like to be surprised as the story progresses. Soooooo . . . please progress this story!

  2. Actually, I’m not sure I want this one to continue. Personally, I think Barry should stop spending money like it’s going out of style and, instead, focus on balancing his budget….

    Just like I wish a certain federal government would stop spending money like crazy and focus on balancing its budget! 😉

Leave a Reply

